I love a lazy Saturday morning

-609320571

But today was never going to be that.

This time last year I was more stressed than I can ever remember being. I was getting ready to, with three others, lead night shelter training to a group of volunteers and absolutely everything seemed to be going wrong. About 60 attended and in the end it went just fine (once my crazy heart rate had calmed, anyway).

Today we were one down up front, expecting a whole new cohort of volunteers. And there’s me, on the stage, looking like I’m due any moment. Ordinarily not somewhere I’d normally chose to be of a Saturday morning, with just 6 weeks to go.

But it went really well. Over 100 new volunteers came along, and the feedback we received was overwhelmingly positive.

In two weeks I get to do it all again. Good thing I enjoy what I do, eh?

Leave a Reply

