Distracted

I keep taking my eye off the ball.

I’m not sure when it started.

Was it three months ago? Or the full 12?

When Bean was very little, just a week or two old, I let him try using a bottle of expressed milk. He took to it well, gulping the contents down at quite a rate. A couple of weeks or so later, when I had to leave him for a little while, he again had a bottle and seemed to enjoy it. Then last Sunday, it was like he just didn’t know what to do with it anymore. Right when I really needed him to be happy with it.

I got it wrong. Because I got distracted by life. I forgot that he’d probably need to practice to be able to keep it up. I feel stupid. Again.

While I was away I bought him a sippy cup to try instead. I got on with sterilizing it this morning, keen to give it a go. I popped it into a pan of boiling water for 5 minutes.

Then about an hour later, smelling something funny, I asked my flatmate if there was something on in the kitchen.

There was. My sterilizing pan. Completely boiled dry. And this…

image

…in the bottom.

That blasted ball!

Leave a Reply

