Fish and chips

It was back to work for me today, for a couple of hours anyway. M’s grandparents had kindly agreed to look after him for me, so when they arrived it was a quick handover before I legged it for the bus.

Before they’d come, I’d promised to get fish and chips for all of us after the meeting – who wants to cook then, eh? So I felt like quite a plonker when I got on the bus then realised that I had no money. Oh, the dangers of having an Oyster card and the overconfidence that can bring!

So I begged a tenner from a kind colleague and, once the meeting was done, headed to my favourite fish shop.

I started to order three cod and chips when it, slowly – too slowly – dawned on me that ten quid was not nearly going to cover it…. I was so embarrassed! After retreating to consider my options (no, I’m sure I didn’t look too stupid standing back while my snails-pace baby-brain tried to work out what on earth to do…) I decided, since I could hardly return empty-handed, to get one portion fish and chips and let my parents share it. Oh, the shame!

In the end, and after I’d realised I had enough for a battered sausage and has added that to my order, once I got home and admitted my error, it was plenty. Thank goodness for their generous portions. In fact, I suspect we all felt a little less guilty about the mid-week, take-away feast as a result.

Phew!

And, goodness, juggling responsibility for another human being as well as keeping myself in check is proving to trip up my little head more than I expected… I do hope I can get my act together soon…

One thought on “Fish and chips

Leave a Reply

